Failure to register as a sex offender is defined in Massachusetts law as the following:
A person who has been deemed a sex offender that knowingly fails to register, fails to verify their information, or fails to provide notice of change of address, employment, school status or other false information to the Sex Offender Registry Board has committed a crime.
Requirements for Conviction
In order to secure a conviction, the prosecution will need to prove that:
- the defendant resides, is employed, or attends school in Massachusetts;
- the defendant was convicted of a sex crime requiring Sex Offender Registration and/or has been designated as a Sexually Dangerous Person;
- the defendant knew that they were required to register, verify registration data or provide notice of change of address to the Sex Offender Registry Board; and
- that the defendant failed to do so.
A first violation for Failing to Register as a Sex Offender requires a penalty for no less than 6 months and up to 2 ½ years in the House of Corrections and a $1000 fine.
A second violation requires an enhanced penalty for no less than 5 years in state prison.
Defense Attorneys for Failing to Register Charges
Being charged with failure to register as a sex offender is a serious allegation, with potentially life-altering consequences. We are experienced criminal defense attorneys with proven success in difficult and complex sex crime allegations. If you are or a loved one is facing charges, call us at 781-797-0555 today. We can help.